Home > patient advocacy > Do I Have to Be a Nurse to Be a Patient Advocate?

Do I Have to Be a Nurse to Be a Patient Advocate?

The answer is simple.  No.

This post has moved:

http://advoconnectionblog.com/2010/11/14/do-i-have-to-be-a-nurse-to-be-a-patient-advocate/

Categories: patient advocacy
  1. November 15, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    Hi Trisha,
    I agree with all of your points except the fourth. As a Patient Advocate educated by an accredited program which is run by an accredited university (The Alfus Patient Advocacy Program at the University of Miami), I believe not only is my worth as valuable as a nurse, I believe I bring more value to the profession, because I have been trained specifically to be a Patient Advocate.

    The Alfus Patient Advocacy program is not a weekend workshop, nor is it a seminar. It is a yearlong rigorous academic program, covering all aspects of Patient Advocacy. This program has given me the tools, skills, ethics, and compassion to successfully advocate for my clients. It has allowed me to open a thriving patient advocacy practice and establish trust and credibility with my clients and the healthcare community.

    For the above reasons, I do not believe I “should” be paid less than a nurse. My service is just as valuable and respected. A point you yourself make in your fifth and final point!

  1. November 14, 2010 at 9:45 pm
  2. November 15, 2010 at 1:07 pm
  3. November 19, 2010 at 7:41 am

Share your thoughts!

